BABY BOOMERS: This is for you!

“It’ll never last, it’s just a fad,” and with angst and dread I peered down the long hallway into the “new” mid-1980s computer lab in high school my sophomore year. All I could imagine were the long hours of having to sit and learn a new frustrating method of study on a big boxy apparatus called a “computer” with a flashing cursor on the screen, toting floppy disks, seated side by side with students picking up on how to use “it” faster than I ever would. And those Dot Matrix printers? Oh my – those seemed to promise endless miles of perforated-edged paper rolling out onto the floor to become the backdrop of complicated term papers that would sit in a box never to be read again. Thanks, but no thanks, I would rather stick with my pencil and paper notebook.

Yes, I was certain that reality-vs.-the gossip over the forthcoming “internet” seemed as far fetched as a 2099 sci-fi movie scene thinking all of this was way too much to embrace for change. I rather feared the unfamiliar.

Fast forward 30 years, sitting on the edge of 2016, and without a doubt looking back, I am tickled to admit I was wrong about everything promised to offer! As I type away on my MacBook Pro at the moment, glancing at the messages that pop up on my instant message feature while responses are rolling in from many inquiries I have sent out for business, I smile on the memories of the dinosaur computers that started this entire trend so long ago. This once resistant-to-change girl would be one who would flip over all the techi-gadgets she could handle and spend endless hours on the information super highway, and, even find a voice teaching others, namely the baby boomers, “how to” in order to ease their angst over some new daunting feature as I once did.

I discuss and tutor with the boomers who have seen an eyeful of success on line, and yet are trying to figure out how they can take an idea and bring it to life using the tools available for aid as a launching pad, or take a well run business and kick it up a notch, but not get lost in the newest ever changing method for technical advertising.

There is a thriving lucrative communication avenue through time spent wisely on all that is offered at our finger tips, and the newest areas of “socializing” on a computer via social media sites can promise a broad new spectrum in an instant for exposure for business, branding, ministry and more. Once a person chooses to try something new, they can learn methods and trends to reach a much broader audience to with a message, product, or service. Promising and simple, it can happen, and education and a guide through the process is vital.

Let me encourage any reader taking in my story, I had to learn through many hours spent on schooling from those much younger and quicker than I, but soon discovered that once I landed a considerable sized yearly account and even more so the spiritual and emotional benefits to the ministry of a social media presence, the rewards of the result far surpassed the hassle of learning something new. Now it’s an encouragement and exciting place to be, teaching, as a bonafide nerd!

More importantly, I feel it is vital not to slip through the cracks due to the ever evolving computer gadget craze to stay in touch with our younger generation. We, as parents and grandparents, are at a critical place where we need to provide protection by staying in the loop of what our children are into. In the weeks ahead as you face the New Year with high expectations and goals for business, health, and more, add to your list our upcoming webinars and e-book introductions to Social Media 101 Courses as well as information blurbs on the latest for those that have started that want to move into a higher level of exposure on their existing platforms. Visit http://www.mrcconsulting.us that has every thing you need to learn more! Our goal is to teach you how to squeeze every benefit possible from what the on-line information highway has to offer.

See my television interview on this topic: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G72NqchKWo8

—ReAnn (Social Media Advisor and Business Consultant for MRC Consulting at http://www.mrcconsulting.us)

http://www.mrcconsulting.us/baby-boomers-this-is-for-you/)Computer Dinosaur.png

Leave a Reply

